top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJill MacCormack

Summer Night, Moon Landing Tanka

Nose pressed to window,

Eyes creep up hollyhock stem

On wild, rain-soaked blooms,

Land on loose, gauze- draped shoulder

of moon--sigh, these humid nights.


Just a few moments ago, in passing, Maria sweetly called me over to the dining room window to see the gorgeous moon. Wow--what a post thunderstorm, nighttime sky-scape in front of me. I thought I should look to see if the hollyhocks which my husband and I staked before the rain storm this evening had weathered the heavy rain alright. It being dark, I had to press my nose firmly against the window to even see the hollyhocks outside in the front garden. As I caught sight of them before me, I walked my eyes up from one wet bloom to another all the way to the top, finishing with blooms still held firmly in green bud. Like Jack and the Beanstalk, I suddenly found I had landed on the cloud- shadowed moon; the whole thing felt very luscious. I wonder if Jeff B enjoyed his brief space travel as much as I just did, mine.


Thanks for reading,

Jill

11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

An Easy Way to Urgently Help Pass Basic Income Bill S-233

Dear friend! Just popping by to ask for your kind support. If you are so inclined, please copy, paste (and possibly personalize) the below letter and send to PEI Senator Jane MacAdam ( Jane.MacAdam@se

bottom of page