top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJill MacCormack

I Wake in the Morning Early and I Dream of a World Where...

How an online community for a better world and a poem from my childhood came together this morning...


When I was just a little girl I had the wonderful great fortune of a mom who loved to read aloud to my siblings and I. Her read aloud soon turned to recite aloud as she memorized so many of the books of our childhood. One book in particular, I memorized as well and recited much of it to my own children when they were young. A particular favourite poem of mine sees eight year old me in my little bed, awaking early and imagining that I was the girl in the poem's accompanying picture, stretching arms up to the sky, dreaming into the wonder of a new day dawning and bird-like, singing and singing and singing.


This morning when I awoke early to help support our youngest daughter to dress rehearsal for her first singing solo at the Guild's performance of Honk Jr playing a much- maligned feline (she has done many, many dance solos but singing is new and still requiring some extra support) I noticed in my email box an Avaaz survey for their online community requesting support for direction the movement will take in 2021. At the end of the survey participants are welcomed to complete the phrase I dream of a world where...and in doing so I felt just like eight year old Jill again.

Here is my response I wrote earlier this morning in between many other morning things such as helping Clara with the perfect part for her space buns, making breakfast, early bunny chores and drinking tea.


I dream of a world where...the hearts and minds of humans have become enchanted once more with the natural world. Where this re-enchantment causes humans to pause reflectively in moments of joy and wonder. Where these moments of joy and wonder cause humans to fall back into love with the world and each other. Where this love causes us to remember how to honour Earth and all its myriad creatures and forms. Where this remembering to honour brings us to a place of far less destruction and greater peace. Where this peace reminds us to act in harmony with the cycles and seasons, the rotations and rhythms of Earth. Where renewed awareness of these rhythms welcomes us all to sing and dance and breathe the air as ONE.


The poem from my childhood goes like this:


Singing Time



Rose Fyleman


What do you dream of for the world?


Be well,

Thanks for reading!

Happy Poetry Month!

Jill

43 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Easy Way to Urgently Help Pass Basic Income Bill S-233

Dear friend! Just popping by to ask for your kind support. If you are so inclined, please copy, paste (and possibly personalize) the below letter and send to PEI Senator Jane MacAdam ( Jane.MacAdam@se

bottom of page