top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJill MacCormack

i awoke with a start

i awoke with a start to see it was all just a dream

my thoughts and gloomy ruminations I'd been caught in

could not hold water

did not hold sway

were, in fact, possible to lighten up

and when i awoke i found myself trailside

several bluejays calling nearby, then silence

i paused, breathing in the bracken air and

my tummy rising,

i felt the sweep of a soft breeze upon the flesh of my face

and then a sweet exhale

blinked my eyes a moment and saw the bluejay's head cocked

intently staring

and then returned

breathing in, i am breathing in the forest's breath

pause

breathing out, i offer my breath to the forest

a few remaining Maple leaves

rustled in the wind--whose breath? the wind? i am not sure

you were sitting there too but we didn't say a word

we couldn't speak

there was no other


Jill



Addendum--I did awake @ 6am today with a sudden jolt--an entire blog post about mindful awareness of belonging to Earth and hardly a reference to pausing in sensory orientation in the woods I love! All that thinking--where was the dissolution of self?


And please consider taking four minutes to watch this little animation on the Neuroscience of Mindfulness meditation. If you tend to overthinking or being anxious--it is so worthy of your time. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vo_VANW35b0


Thanks for reading.

Be well,

Jill



32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Easy Way to Urgently Help Pass Basic Income Bill S-233

Dear friend! Just popping by to ask for your kind support. If you are so inclined, please copy, paste (and possibly personalize) the below letter and send to PEI Senator Jane MacAdam ( Jane.MacAdam@se

bottom of page